Will it be there?

Will it be there?
 
I am headed in the near future to Apalachicola for some work and it has me reflecting on sights I have seen and whether they will still be there when I return. Recently Florida announced the allocation of funds to clean up the abandoned boats around Apalachicola. I understand the need to do that but they sure were great subjects for some images. There are plenty of other things to shoot down there beyond abandoned boats, so it will be fun searching for a few additional things to use as subjects.
 
Now for a short rant. Recently a new photographer with 3 or 4 years experience, the name is unimportant, made the statement about shooting film vs. digital and how film makes you actually a better photographer. Why? Because you have to select apertures, shutter speeds, ISOs, focus and compose as opposed to digital where you could just point and shoot. I had to listen to that statement several times, because I had to be hearing it wrong, but I heard it correctly. They have only been shooting for a couple years, but talked about the old days. Folks, a digital sensor is just like film. A photographer can get point and shoot results with film as well as digital. A good photographer who knows his craft, does the exact same thing with digital that they did with film but the only difference is the latitude you can get with digital, plus you aren’t doing the harm to the environment by dumping chemicals down the drain. I’m not saying this person is doing this because I don’t know how they are capturing their chemicals. A skilled photographer, takes the time to select an aperture, set their exposure, compose and focus. They develop their image on a computer vs. in a darkroom. It truly bothered me and was honestly an insult to photographers who work on improving their craft. There was the suggestion that digital photography is lazy and film photography is not, when in reality it isn’t the type of photography being done, but the photographer. You may be fine with what comes straight of out the processor in a camera, but I like to do the processing myself. If a photographer wants to point and shoot, great, but those that are wanting to master their craft learn why and how. For a photographer to suggest digital photographers are, well, lazy, is such an insult. I guess it I should not let it get to me when a photographer that has 40 less years experience talks about the old days, but I honestly have cameras older than they do experience. Learn your craft, know it, practice it, but don’t talk about things in which you truly have no idea. As my friend Andre says about photography, the only rule is “don’t lie”. And let me add, don’t pretend to be someone you are not, one of the best photographers I know openly talks about the fact they never shot a roll of film. Rant over.
 
This image could not have been done using film by the way, well not anywhere as easily as digital. Tamron SP 15-30mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-800, Manual Exposure mode, f2.8, ISO 3200, shutter speed of 30 seconds, Sirui N3204X tripod and K30X ballhead, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiPro, #SiruiUSA
5 Responses to “Will it be there?”

  1. John Bradley Says:

    Excellent piece David. And your rant makes sense. I love the “learn your craft, know it and practice it.” Spot on. Thank you for posting.

  2. Beautifully said

  3. Reblogged this on Travel, Photograph, Experience and commented:
    Good shot from Bear Woods … and a nicely written “rant” on film vs digital.

Leave a Reply

