Zoom Sequence of the new Tamron 18-400mm lens

at 18mm

at 50mm

at 92mm (I meant it to be at 100mm)

at 400mm

Zoom Sequence of new Tamron 18-400mm.
 
This is a series of images I did yesterday using the new Tamron 18-400mm Di-II VC HLD lens to show the zoom capabilities. My friend and fellow photographer David Carrigan took me to Gunbrook Falls near Amherst yesterday to give me an opportunity for this example. Dave is a great guy as well as photographer to agree to pick me up at 5:30am! Thanks again.
 
The first image was shot at 18mm, then I zoomed into 50mm, the third image is about 100mm, and the final image is 400mm. I also did 200mm and 300mm, but I am not posting it since these images demonstrate the effectiveness of the lens well enough. I had forgotten my cable release so I used the self timer feature of the D-500 to release the shutter. All the images were shot using a tripod and a circular polarizer was used as well. I chose an aperture of f16 for all the images as well. My conclusion from looking at the images on my laptop are detailed in the water and foliage remained consistently sharp, I didn’t see distortion in the landscape and edge sharpness was very nice as well. The zoom ring of the lens was nice and tight so no lens drift is present and even fully extended, my lightweight tripod and ballhead had no issues supporting the camera and lens. This is going to be a great lens, especially for those folks who want to simply what they are carrying, and to me is a great alternative for someone who is debating on going to a mirrorless camera due to weight. The amount of weight and space this lens attached to a body requires to cover 18-400mm (27-600mm equivalent on my Nikon D-500) is going to be a great alternative for people who have issues carrying a lot of gear. I am going to play with some macro things in the next few days I hope and will show more examples soon of how much this lens is impressing me so far!
 
Tamron 18-400mm Di-II VC HLD lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f16, ISO 100, shutter speed varies slightly due to changing light conditions, Sirui N1204X tripod and G20X ballhead, MindShift Gear PhotoCross 13 Sling Bag, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronUSA, #TamronImageMaster, #SiruiUSA, #SiruiProfessional, #MindShiftGear
4 Responses to “Zoom Sequence of the new Tamron 18-400mm lens”

  1. Very impressive.

  2. Thanks for the demo. To me, Tamron is probably the most underrated overlooked lens out there.

Leave a Reply

