This Weekend

This Weekend.
 
Here in the US we have Memorial Day tomorrow. Many people think of it as the official start to summer. Many people think of it as a day to recognize Veterans for their service. And sadly, some places think of it as an opportunity to have sales. It is a day, or a weekend, to recognize those who died in service to our country. So very many of these folks were kids in their teens or young men in their 20s, who were taken before they could run a company, be fathers or mothers, or just grow old. As a Veteran, I never served for someone to walk up to me and thank me for my service, I did it because I believe that at its core, this country is the greatest place on Earth to live. When I enlisted I knew my service meant I may not return, I was one of the fortunate ones. It was something worth fighting and dying for in my opinion. This weekend take a moment to research someone who died in service for this country. When you go to store for a sale, tell the cashier or a fellow shopper about that person. At a cookout tell others about that brave person. When you see something on social media or are out in public and someone is exercising their right to free speech, even if it is not what you agree with, talk to them about that person.
 
Let me tell you about William R. Caddy. He was born in Quincy, MA on August 8, 1925, dropped out of High School to work to help support his family. He was drafted into the Marines in 1943 and was sent to the Pacific theater. He was on Iwo Jima and fought for 12 days before on March 3, 1945 a grenade landed nearby. He smothered the grenade, sacrificing his life to save the lives around him. His Medal of Honor was presented to his Mother at his High School in MA. Semper Fi PFC Caddy.
4 Responses to “This Weekend”

  1. John Bradley Says:

    Thank you for putting the solemnity of the day.

  2. “This weekend take a moment to research someone who died in service for this country.”
    A valuable use of our time.

    Though it’s not the reason,
    I thank you still for your service
    as I thank every veteran I can,
    whenever I can, as I thank my father still,
    though he is no longer with us.
    though so many are no longer with us.
    Thank you.

  3. lilybug1960 Says:

    Too many have made the ultimate sacrifice for us to forget. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

