The Elusive Ovenbird

The Elusive Ovenbird.
 
I am by no measure a bird expert, but I have a passion for birding. I’m pretty good at identifying a lot of birds by sound as well as sight. One bird I have heard often, but seen rarely, and photographed never, is the Ovenbird. It is a small Warbler that stays low in the forest and builds a nest similar to an oven in shape. I have chased them around the woods many, many times with no success in capturing them on my sensor. Yesterday I was driving out of my driveway when a caught something fly to a branch beside the driveway. I had my camera with me and the settings were enough to capture an image or two. I had set my camera to manual exposure, matrix metering and Auto ISO due to the birds I had photographed the night before. It was perfect for this opportunity. I composed and released the shutter several times before the Ovenbird disappeared in the forest. It was then I looked down at the LCD screen, pleased with the image, and shocked to see the ISO was 18,000! I am super impressed to know that if I need to ever shoot my D-500 at ISO 18,000 I will get a very nice image with relatively low noise. Now if I could only spot that Sasquatch…
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 18,000, shutter speed of 1/500th of a second, handheld (since I was sitting in the drivers seat, car in park) utilizing the Vibration Compensation feature of the lens, my tripod was being braced against the window opening of my Subaru Crosstrek 😉 , processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMaster, #TamronLensesUSA
2 Responses to “The Elusive Ovenbird”

  1. Wow!

Leave a Reply

