Crickets

Crickets
 
Apparently crickets are in season for Eastern Bluebirds. I went down to check on the progress of the nestboxes I put up down at Angels on Horseback yesterday. I have 3 active Bluebird families, one with 2 babies, one with 3, and I’m not sure how many on the other, the female is pretty protective of the box and I don’t want to stress her. I also have one with Tree Swallows inside! In the barn there are Barn Swallows and Northern Rough Winged Swallows nesting. I sat and photographed one of the Bluebird boxes for a while. It is interesting to watch the approach of the birds, the male goes to the top of the box then hops down before flying to the entrance, but the female goes straight to the entrance from wherever she is perched. It is interesting because that is how my pair up here in Bear Woods approach the nestbox as well. Either way, crickets were the main course, although the male also brought in a big moth and a Black Widow spider. I like seeing the birds carry in spiders, one less to get me!
 
Both images were made using the Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual exposure, f8, the male is ISO 400, shutter speed 1/500th, the female is ISO 800 and shutter speed 1/800th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, MindShift TrailScape 18L, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMaster, #SiruiProfessional, #SiruiUSA, #TamronUSA, #MindShiftGear
2 Responses to “Crickets”

  1. David I will pm you on Facebook my fave Berry Bluebird photo I took in 2015… crickets are a big part of the photo 🙂

Leave a Reply

