Scissortail Flycatcher

Scissortail Flycatcher.
 
I was in Huntsville last night for my presentation to the Huntsville Photographic Society. It was so nice meeting so many new folks and finally meeting a bunch that I have known through Facebook for a while. I look forward to returning to visit with everyone in the future. I arrived with about an hour of spare time so Cecil Holmes decided to take me by the Alabama A&M farm to see what birds were out. We saw lots of Eastern Meadowlarks and Eastern Bluebirds, along with many smaller songbirds and hawks, but the treat was the Scissortail Flycatcher. It flew along the fence and allowed us to capture some really nice images. Such beautiful and graceful birds to watch fly.
 
Another bonus for me was some of the great classic Country music I was able to hear on the radio as I drove. I really enjoyed hearing some classics. I even got to hear the classic Kenny Chesnutt song, “Bubba shot the Jukebox”. Pure. Country. Gold. Let’s examine the circumstances of Bubba’s dilemma. Bubba said the Jukebox played a sad song that made him cry, so he went to the truck and got his 45. Sounds justifiable to me. The police however wanted to charge Bubba with “Reckless discharge of a gun.” Bubba however had the perfect defense, he stated “Reckless? Hell! I hit exactly where I was aiming.” The Police also were claiming Bubba may not be fit for trial by saying “You was always a dense one.” I tell you this is pure Country Gold.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 400, shutter speed of 1/1000th of a second, handheld utilizing the Vibration Compensation feature of the lens, MindShift Gear FirstLight 30L, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #MindShiftGear
6 Responses to “Scissortail Flycatcher”

  1. Roger Hunter Says:

    Hey David,

    Thank you so much for your willingness to make the trip over to Huntsville to be with HPS last night. Very much enjoyed your presentation and your wit. Hope to see you back again in the near future.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thank you for taking the even g to attend as well as the kind words. I hope to see you in the future!

  2. My wife & I really enjoyed your presentation last night at Huntsville Photographic Society! Hope to see you in the future.

    Brian B.

  3. Gary P. Stiger Says:

    David – loved your presentation – thanks so much for the tips and thoughts and your many really beautiful images. I have been on your website and of course nothing shoddy there either. Great way to spend a Monday night

    from the only guy who still shoots film – Gary Stiger

Leave a Reply

