The Image Tells the Story

The Image Tells the Story.
 
My teaching partner, Cecil Holmes, wrote a blog post a couple of weeks ago about just being a regular guy who loves to photograph. It was really great, you should read it at CecilsPhotos.com. Then just the other day another friend, Mike Moats, wrote a great piece about how he was noticing how photographers had to put quotes with their images and told stories about how they have these “connections” with their subjects and thus the reasons for their images. I have noticed it as well and I am sure it has been going on for a long time, but it seems recently I see it more. It kind of baffles me because maybe I am missing out on something. Do I feel I have a connection with birds and nature in general? Of course! I like you am a part of the World around me. I have spent endless hours observing and learning the habits and behaviors of animals. Is that a special connection? Only through education.
 
Every time a photographer releases a shutter and creates an image, there is a story to it. That story, as Mike said, could be that the photographer just thinks its pretty, which is often the case for me. I like the way something looks and I want to capture that image and share it. For many years there have been “Inspirational” posters with beautiful images and they are really neat because we want to find inspiration of some sort in our lives, we want to dream. We want to get away. As photographers we should create images for our reasons even if they are just a pretty scene. The story should be the image.
 
Sometimes the problem becomes the photographer starts to believe image is more than that, and it can be for many, but we are really just capturing a memory of a moment often. I often joke that I am just a big kid with a camera. I am just that. I studied art and I understand how things can be visually pleasing when arranged properly, but it isn’t a connection to anything, just an understanding. I don’t believe I am known for any deep spiritual connection with anything beyond a love of nature. Cecil and I were talking last night and were reading a photographer’s bio and the words used to describe them were like poetry. It was kind of a letdown though when we Googled the line of particular interest and we found it almost verbatim from another photographer’s page, change one word, leave one off. I guess they found inspiration from that photographer or at least their bio. I guess they also didn’t realize when you Google, it searches all of the internet, even Australia. I keep thinking of my friend Andre’s one and only rule in photography…don’t lie. In a nutshell, the rant is this: Take pretty pictures, create beautiful images simply because it is pretty and the great thing is you were there to capture that beauty. You saw it in a way you appreciated it. If someone else sees that beauty like you…awesome. Let the image tell the story, but it is okay to share your story and your inspiration as well.
 
Sailboat at Scipio Creek in fog. Tamron 16-300mm Di-II VC PZD lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f11, ISO 100, shutter speed 1/40th of a second, Sirui W2204X tripod and K20X ballhead, MindShift Gear TrailScape 18L, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA, #SiruiPro, #MindShiftGear
2 Responses to “The Image Tells the Story”

  1. I’ve noticed the same. It’s kind of frustrating to realize it’s another’s statement. I really don’t feel the need for me to recognize the beauty of the photo. Not for me, anyway.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I’ve always felt the photographer creates an image and the image tells something about the photographer. When a photographer plagiarizes another person’s words, they lose all credibility and makes me stop looking at their work. Sad.

Leave a Reply

