As the Sun peeks over the hill

gibbs-gardens-022417q-copy

va-5

As the sun peeks over the hill.

 

One image I love to capture is as the sun peeks over the hill to the east of the large field of daffodils. That moment when you can see the rays of sunshine touching the flowers for the first time that day, it almost appears they are filling the flowers with the yellow of each bloom. This is the 4th year I have been honored to be one of the official photographers for Gibbs Gardens and I am constantly amazed at the beauty Mr. Gibbs has designed for all of us to see. Daffodils were his Mother’s favorite flower and his daffodil gardens were planted for that reason. What a great way to honor your Mother by sharing with so many others.

 

The second image is a cell phone shot of my set up for the morning. I have been playing with some video so I had the Sirui VA-5 video head and LE-60 leveling base on my N3204X tripod. My Canon 5Diii is my typical landscape camera these days and always will have a Tamron lens attached. This morning it was the SP 24-70mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens. For the panoramic I posted last night I changed the orientation to portrait and then shot the 8 frames and combined them in Lightroom CC. If you look at the front of the lens, you can see the Sirui Filter holder attached and the top of the Graduated Neutral Density filter (3 stop). I was constantly running from location to location to capture the light as it rises and on this morning and was using the MindShiftGear FirstLight backpack.

 

Tamron SP 24-70mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Exposure mode, f22 (to lengthen the spires on the sunburst), ISO 100, shutter speed of 1/2 second (I meter the foreground and set the exposure for that then move the filter into place), Sirui N3204X tripod, Sirui LE-60 leveling base with VA-5 video head attached, MindShiftGear FirstLight 20L backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiPro, #SiruiUSA, #MindShiftGear

Leave a Reply

