Slow Down the Shutter for Mood

sandhill-cranes-112016a-copy

Slow down the shutter for mood.
 
One of the techniques I will be discussing next week in my lecture in Mobile will be using a slow shutter speed to capture mood when photographing birds in flight. We all like to get a nice sharp image of our bird subjects, but sometimes slowing down the shutter can create a completely different feel that was more representative of the scene you are shooting. A few of the early influences on my photography were Ernst Haas and Eliot Porter. They used this technique often and it always was something I strive to do when shooting in low light especially. Later as I spent time shooting and learning from my friend and one of my mentors, Art Wolfe, I got lots of practice and instruction on the technique. Art is probably my favorite photographer when using this technique and striving to capture images similar to his have been a goal of mine. I include it in my lectures and teaching to always offer an avenue for my students to do something different and unique. Give it a try next time you are photographing in that golden light with birds taking off or landing. Even better, if you are in Mobile next Friday night stop by Calagaz Photo Supply at 6 pm and join us for our presentation!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f16, ISO 1600, shutter speed of 1/20th of a second, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 Gimbal head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiPro, #SiruiUSA, #MindShiftGear
Leave a Reply

