The Porcelain Bird

cedar-waxwing-022017e-copy

cedar-waxwing-022017c-copy

cedar-waxwing-022017g-copy

The Porcelain Bird.
 
Here are a few more images of Cedar Waxwings from Monday in Rome, Georgia. When I look at the birds they look like porcelain figurines that have been painted and displayed. The soft colors of the main body with the vivid yellow underbelly and tip of the tail. Then throw in the red tips of the wings, which is how they get their name with its resemblance of wax droplets on the wing tips. They are truly one of the most beautiful birds that are in our area.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 400, shutter speed of 1/500th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, MindShiftGear MP7 backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, SiruiPro, SiruiUSA, #MindShiftGear, #thinktankphoto
6 Responses to “The Porcelain Bird”

  1. Wow! They are beautiful.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      They really are gorgeous. I am really enjoying Oshie’s adventures by the way! He is such a good boy!

      • I need to get out and shoot some more. I almosy had an amazing inage yesterday. Oshie and I were down by the woods and a hawk came buzzing over his head carrying what appeared to be a dead bird. It was maybe 7 feet off the ground and stayed at that height until it hit the trees. Had the camers in hand but just wasn’t quick enough.

        Thanks! I am having fun shooting the short videos and learning how to edit them. The youtube had become much more popular than the blog haha.

      • lilybug1960 Says:

        What a cool experience, even if you weren’t able to capture it with the camera. I love the videos! I am just starting to do some video for a project with a non profit. Editing is going to be something that will take me some time!

  2. Absolutely beautiful picture! I just got my Tamron 150-600 G2 and shoot a Canon 70D. Were you using VC on this shot? I’m still confused when to use VC, it’s my first zoom lens.
    Again, awesome picture.
    Bob

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Congratulations on your lens, and thanks for the kind words. I did use the VC feature. I typically use it on shutter speeds around 1/250th or slower, but I did have it on for this one.

Leave a Reply

