The Weird Winter Continues

purple-finch-f-020717a-copy

The Weird Winter Continues.
 
In all the years we have lived here or even owned our place and lived here part time, I have seen maybe 4 or 5 Purple Finches in all that time. My feeders have always been covered with Pine Siskin. This year I haven’t seen a Pine Siskin since October and I have at least 10 Purple Finches that have been here all winter. I see a lot of plants greening and I know we will get a few more really cold spells and possibly some snow even. My poor bees don’t know what they are supposed to be doing right now. I am going to scout one of my favorite places this morning and will post some images over the next few days. Normally I wouldn’t be visiting this place for several more weeks but it is way ahead of schedule.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 800, shutter speed 1/125th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, ThinkTankPhoto Airport Commuter, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiPro, #SiruiUSA, #ThinkTankPhoto, #MindShiftGear
4 Responses to “The Weird Winter Continues”

  1. This is one strange winter. Here in NC we go from 80 degree days to mornings with frost. I have yet to see a purple finch myself.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Same here. Yesterday I was in a t-shirt, this morning 28 degrees!

      • It was 81 degrees over the weekend and the past two mornings here have been in the low 30’s. I hate it. I want it to either be cold or warm ha-ha. I really hate the days where it starts out in the 30’s and is 70 by the end of the day.

      • lilybug1960 Says:

        It is crazy to have winter and spring in the same day!

Leave a Reply

