Thoughts of Apalachicola

eastpoint-110714d-copy

Thoughts of Apalachicola.
 
I am thinking of the folks of Apalachicola this morning after a decision that said Florida failed to show how Georgia capping its water use would harm their environment and oyster industry. Obviously the person making the decision didn’t visit the area and see images of how it looked 20 years ago vs. today. They obviously didn’t take a moment to look at how the lack of fresh water has effected the estuaries and the bay. I hope the Supreme Court decides to still hear the case and give the folks and the area a chance to survive and thrive. Do we really need more houses and subdivisions in Georgia? Our roads and lakes can’t even support what we have now. The Forgotten Coast area has been special to me for many years and I love visiting down there, I even got married down there. I have seen the changes in the past 18 years. I have photographed the changes and will continue to do so. I will be heading down there in about 4 weeks, I will let you know how they feel as well when I return. This is an image from Eastpoint in 2014.
 
Tamron 10-24mm Di-II lens on a Canon 70D, Aperture Priority, f22, 5 frame HDR image combined in Photomatix and processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters
8 Responses to “Thoughts of Apalachicola”

  1. This is a beautiful image. Very nice! I love both the color and the composition.

  2. Absolutely beautiful image! Unfortunate about what is happening to Apalachicola.

  3. Thanks for making a political point that is not popular with Georgia people but reflects the other side!

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      The folks in that area have become great friends to me and my family. It is sad to see such a horrible decision that could ruin a way of life and an ecosystem.

  4. I just read the Miami Herald article, disappointing. Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

