Can Your Gear Make You A Better Photographer?

eastern-bluebird-020717g-copy

Can your gear make you a better photographer?
 
Absolutely Yes! Before some of you start throwing things at your computer, hear me out. Your gear is only as good as you are using it, but having good gear can mean more confidence in your shooting and get you out there more. I used to love to photograph birds for many years but the lenses 10 years ago couldn’t keep up with the birds. Today’s lenses, especially my Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens does everything I want or need it to do. I have spent a lot of time learning the lens and knowing what works best in what situation, as well as how to set the camera to achieve the best results. I am a firm believer that I don’t have to spend $10K on a lens to get the same results from my $1.3K lens. The same goes with tripods and monopods. I see absolutely no justification to spend twice what I spend for a tripod that offers no added benefit for me. That doesn’t mean the expensive one isn’t good, it isn’t what I need. I need a good sturdy base to put under my camera and lens in all types of conditions and know it will be steady and not vibrate. My Sirui tripods have been in temps over 100 degrees and in -34 degrees and worked flawlessly. Their monopods are second to none. I refer to them as my “poor man’s gimbal” because they will do many of the same things my tripod and gimbal will do when I can’t carry them. I have found the perfect camera backpacks finally in ThinkTank and MindShift, as I hike more with the gear, I am quickly learning how important the suspension systems are in the these bags.
 
Get to know your gear, and learn to use it to the best of its ability and absolutely it will improve your photography. Confidence in walking out setting up and capturing an image on the first try is something most of the folks I know want to accomplish. It will allow more time to concentrate on composition vs how to work your gear or if your tripod will slip or your shoulders aching.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 800, shutter speed of 1/125th of a second, AF, Vibration Compensation active mode 1, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, ThinkTank Airport Commuter backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA, #SiruiPro, #ThinkTankPhoto
2 Responses to “Can Your Gear Make You A Better Photographer?”

  1. Beautiful photo, and great info!

Leave a Reply

