My Morning Helper

eastern-phoebe-120516d-copy

My Morning Helper.
 
I have an assistant each morning when I go out to fill the feeders, an Eastern Phoebe. Shortly after I walk out the back door, it begins calling me from the woods. I make a few noises and it flies to a post by the garden. We talk for a few seconds, then I place some mealworms in the cavity on top of the post seen in the image. I walk a couple of steps and he lands and eats a few worms. It watches me as I fill the other feeders, then when I am finished he eats a few more, chats at me, then flies off to a nearby branch. I would like to believe that he enjoys my company, but I know he has developed a pattern that he knows there isn’t any other competition for the food while I am there. The other birds stay away until I get 15 feet away. It is funny though, as I work in the other parts of the yard, he often comes and sits in a branch nearby and watches, hoping that I will flush out an insect of some sort. When I find a grub, of course I toss it over to him. We have been doing this little routine for almost 2 years now. One of these days I will have to carry my camera with me out there and get a little video as I fill the feeders.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 400, shutter speed 1/125th of a second, Vibration Compensation active, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
Leave a Reply

