Preparing for My Winter Trip

barn-on-mormon-row-011011a-copy

Preparing for my Winter Trip.
 
A couple years ago when I was planning a trip to the Tetons for a winter trip, I researched the effects of the cold on all of my gear. The biggest concern was battery life. Batteries die quickly in extreme cold so I carried 2 or 3 extra batteries in my pocket. You had to be careful about condensation as well. You didn’t want hike and have your camera close enough to your body to get some moisture on the lens because when you took it out to shoot, it would form ice crystals. When I was going out to shoot, I made sure my camera had plenty of time to acclimatize. I tried to store the camera inside my bag at night so it didn’t get too warm.
 
As for the gear, the cold would only affect the camera in the sense that the LCD might look a little blue with prolonged exposure to the elements. I had my camera out for a couple hours and it never did change color. If it would have, it would be fine once it warmed up. Tripods and ballheads will feel “tight” from the lubricants freezing up a little. It got better with warmth as well. All in all, I found the cold was not as bad on all of my gear as I thought it would be, and for me, I just dressed in layers. I really enjoyed my trip and my confidence in shooting in extreme cold is great. The coldest it got while we were there was -22 degrees one day with the wind chill. I had on about 3 layers and was toasty.
 
Tamron 10-24mm Di-II lens on a Nikon D-90, Aperture Priority, f8, ISO 200, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, shutter speed of 1/1250th of a second, processed in Photoshop. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters
2 Responses to “Preparing for My Winter Trip”

  1. I’m dying to go there in the winter. Love your photos!

Leave a Reply

