Wood Duck

wood-duck-120716b-copy

wood-duck-120716f-copy

Wood Duck
 
Aix sponsa. While I was waiting for Eagle action the other day, I noticed an odd duck mixed in with the Mallards, a Wood Duck! Now what was odd about this was my knowledge of Wood Ducks is that they don’t really hang out with other types of ducks. This guy though definitely was having an identity crisis. He not only seemed to be hanging out with the ducks but was very protective and territorial about a female Mallard nearby. Wood Ducks usually are solitary or hang out in small groups of Wood Ducks. I hung out shooting images of this guy for about an hour and a half. Several other of the local photographers came by waiting for Eagle action as well and were happy to see the Wood Duck when I pointed it out. A few chuckled when they had walked by without noticing him. They said he has been around off and on for a couple of years. I think this guy was the star of the day at the lake that morning. I have never been able to get really close shots of one before that day. I even found I was having to back out on my zoom often to fit him into the frame! I absolutely took advantage to make sure I have many, many images of a Wood Duck!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 400, shutter speed 1/500th, Vibration Compensation active, Sirui P424S carbon fiber monopod, L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
Leave a Reply

