Happy Thanksgiving 2016

swp_007-copy

Happy Thanksgiving 2016.

This year is a mixed year for me on this Thanksgiving. I am thankful for my health, Evelyn and my family. I am thankful for my friends and neighbors. I am also very thankful for all the folks I have met and know through my photography, and especially for the sponsors that make it possible to do what I do. I can never say thank you enough to those who believe and support my endeavors. I am sad though, for this is the first time in 11 years, I won’t have a wet cool nose up against my leg waiting for a scrap to drop. My Goldens were like kids to me, and to them I was Dad. Even though I am sad, I am thankful for them having been in my life for the years they were, and for the lessons I learned from them. I will miss them but I am so very thankful for the time we have spent. I will still drop a scrap or two today, I might even smile as I do, thinking about the past.

Please, take time today to spend visiting, talking with, or at the very least thinking about family friends and just those in your lives who you should be thankful for knowing. Not everyone has someone to spend the day with and we should keep them in our thoughts as well. We should especially be thankful for those who are serving the country and can’t make it home today. They are a big reason we can celebrate today. Put aside politics, put aside rivalries, put aside feuds and petty anger, be thankful, , be thoughtful, and be kind. Happy Thanksgiving from our home to yours.

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving 2016”

  1. Wonderful sentiment. And Happy Thanksgiving to you and Evelyn. We’re thinking of you both today.

Leave a Reply

