Crane Ballet

sandhill-crane-111916zh-copy

Crane Ballet.
 
When I set up to do the images this morning I wanted to get the cranes taking off and flying by. Attempting to get a clear sharp image in very low light is impossible without a lot of noise (grain) in the image. I instead wanted to capture the feel of the bird with movement. I stayed at a low enough ISO to allow me about 1/60th of a second exposure and then using the gimbal head would “flow” with the birds. The key is to keep your focus on one bird as you move to keep it as smooth as possible. I really loved this image because it captured the birds “dancing” off of the water. It reminds me of one of my favorite photographer’s work, Ernst Haas and the Creation. This book was the inspiration for so many nature photographers when I was starting out.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 1600, shutter speed of 1/60th of a second, Vibration Compensation mode 2 for panning active, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 gimbal head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
Leave a Reply

