Split Second Timing

northern-pintail-111916j-copy

Split Second Timing.
 
By far Birds in Flight is the most difficult type of photography that I do, and a sub-category, Lifting Off, is even more difficult. That split second a bird erupts from the water and flies requires split second timing to lock on and stay in focus. This is why bird hunters use a shotgun vs. a single bullet when hunting. For me, I use a “zone” area in my Auto Focus to increase my chances and percentages of success. I have been ranting and raving about the new G2 version of the Tamron SP 150-600mm and how it pans incredibly well, this is the result. The VC (Vibration Compensation) allows me to be more consistent in my tracking of the bird and helps the camera stay locked on as well. I used the Nikon and Canon mount versions on several occasions during my testing and both performed incredibly well. This particular subject is historically when AF systems struggle the most, a bird with very similar contrast and pattern as is in the background. I had no warning when the birds would launch, only reaction to movement. Again, I can’t say enough good about this lens and it’s performance.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Canon 7Diii, Manual Exposure mode using a variable of the “Sunny 16 Rule”, f8, ISO 400, 1/1600th of a second, Vibration Control mode 2 for panning active, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 gimbal head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
3 Responses to “Split Second Timing”

  1. This is so sharp and gorgeous. I think I have found the next lens I need to splurge on.

Leave a Reply

