Back in Bear Woods after the Festival of the Cranes

sandhill-crane-111716d-copy

Back in Bear Woods after the Festival of the Cranes
 
I made it home last night about 9p.m. from the Airport. I was excited to see Evelyn, but still dreading walking in the house and not having a cold wet nose with a wagging tail to greet me. As hard as it was for me, I know Evelyn was tasked with a much harder responsibility of having to pick up all the reminders of Bailey and even Lily. It will be a tough couple of weeks and months for us, but one day we will open our hearts to another furry baby for our house. It is too quiet and too empty in our house and in our hearts without one.
 
The Festival of the Cranes was again a fantastic event. Beyond providing me a mental distraction, it was great to see all the birds and meet all the new folks. There is just something special about seeing and hearing the snow geese lift off, then watching as the cranes follow. The quality of light on the birds and landscape is second to none. I highly recommend going out there next November if you can.
 
I went with a personal mission as well. To put the new Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens to the test in such a variety of situations and lighting to see how it could perform. I shot it in great light, bad light and even horrible light. I shot birds moving, standing still and everything in between. I shot it handheld, on a tripod, and a monopod with the 1.4x teleconverter and without. I tested it in depth using all the modes of the Vibration Compensation. I even did most of these tests on both my Nikon D-500 as well as my Canon 7Dii. I can honestly say, it did not disappoint. I found that when I wanted that crisp sharpness in a bird, it did what I hoped it could do plus some. A great bonus for me was when I wanted to do more artistic imagery at a slow shutter speed and panning with the birds, the mode 2 for panning on the Vibration Compensation, was incredible. My ratio of “keepers” was way up and that is always good. I can not recommend the lens enough for folks who are wanting a lens that performs incredibly well at a price, that in my opinion, is worth much more than the cost of the lens.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, Aperture Priority, f8, ISO 3200, +1.3 stops of exposure compensation, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/500th of a second, Vibration Compensation in mode 2 for panning, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 gimbal head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
4 Responses to “Back in Bear Woods after the Festival of the Cranes”

  1. Thinking of you and your re-entry into home life without your furry girl.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks. When I do my post or sit at the computer, she usually was curled up at or on my feet or at the most, a few feet away. It is an open area there now as is in my heart. One day we will allow another part of my heart and space to be occupied by another furry one, just no time soon.

  2. Wonderful shot, very nice to look at,

Leave a Reply

