My Feelings Today

abstract-111816b-copy

My Feelings Today.
This morning I awoke, prepared to go teach a Landscape Workshop at the Festival of the Cranes in New Mexico. While I was teaching, I knew my Golden Retriever Bailey was struggling with life. My wife Evelyn and I had talked the night before and talked about options for our girl. She had been very lethargic and had not gotten up for more than a day. She appeared to be unable to support her weight with her hind legs. Her back legs were swollen twice their normal size, indicating some severe circulation issues. Today our Vet, Dr. Lewis from Wayside Animal Hospital came to our house and confirmed what we were seeing. She was having severe circulation issues in her legs. We learned it was from an advanced case of Lymphoma. It had come on so suddenly and quickly. There was not going to be any cure for her. We promised her, just as we promised her sister Lily, we would never allow her to suffer. Evelyn sat and fed Bailey one of her favorite meals, hotdogs, until the Vet could arrive. She sat with Bailey as she crossed the Rainbow Bridge. Evelyn’s courage and being there for Bailey made things peaceful for our girl. I couldn’t be more proud of the way Evelyn handled things.
As I did just 11 months ago at the passing of our Lily, today I grieve, the first of many days, tomorrow I begin to heal. Knowing Bailey is now united with her sister Lily, makes my heart hurt a little less. Thank you to all that have reached out to Evelyn and I today. Someday we may open our hearts to another furry child, we aren’t ready and won’t be for some time. This year has marked the loss of two of the most incredible souls we have ever met. Lessons in love and forgiveness will always be with us because of our girls. Today we will just feel the emptiness left in our hearts, but we know Bailey feels no pain.
The above image is one of the images I captured today. It is a great representation of my emotions today. It is a reflection of reeds in a pond with the wind disrupting the smoothness of the water.
10 Responses to “My Feelings Today”

  1. David – I am so very sorry to read of all of the issues with Bailey, but am relieved that she was with Evelyn, and is now out of pain. We lost our Angus to a lymphoma in his lungs and around his heart around nine years ago, and there isn’t a day that goes by that we don’t think of him. Tonight, our Finley may be in crisis, too. We’re looking up symptoms and trying to decide if we rush him to the nearest animal emergency hospital. They just break your heart. And, we’re both thinking about the two of you. xoxo

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    Thanks. Evelyn and I will be keeping Finley in our thoughts and prayers, as well as you guys.

  3. My heart is filled with awareness of your pain, and sadly, relief, that your girl had to leave this plane. They’re with us such a short time, and fill us with nothing but love. ❤️

  4. Sorry for your loss. It’s never easy to lose a loving sole.

  5. This makes me sad. I am so sorry for your loss. At this point I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like without our furry boy with us. They are the most perfect and loving companions.I wish you peace and comfort as you deal with this.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks. When we lost Lily in January, there was a void in our lives but Bailey quickly stepped into many of the places we missed our Lily the most. With Bailey’s passing, there is just this huge open void. It is truly very lonely without them. Give your boy a hug for us.

  6. lilybug1960 Says:

    Thanks. Oshie is a great looking boy!

Leave a Reply

