Teleconverters and the Tamron SP 150-600mm G2 lens

berry-eagle-101216j-copy

Teleconverters and the Tamron SP 150-600mm G2 lens.
 
There are times you just want to reach out a little farther when shooting birds. 600mm is pretty long so the only way to do it without breaking the budget is to use a Teleconverter (TC) with the lens. When Tamron designed the G2 lens, they designed 2 TCs specifically for the lens, a 1.4x and a 2x. For me using a 1.4x TC has always made more sense. It only will cost me 1 stop of light while increasing my focal length by 1.4x. I ordered the 1.4x with my lens. It is designed, as I said, for this lens only so it should give me great results. I tried it on several occasions the other day, on static birds and on birds in flight. I expected, and got, great results on static birds, the test in my mind is how would it perform with birds in flight? OUTSTANDING! The focus was quick and accurate, the tracking was great, and the sharpness was perfect. Everything you would want in a TC and more. I have several trips in the next month and I intend to use the lens and TC a lot. It is good knowing that the engineers nailed this one and it gives me complete confidence to put the TC on the lens and not think about the results. Thanks again Tamron!!!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens on a Nikon D-500, with 1.4x Teleconverter, Aperture Priority, f9, ISO 1600, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/6400th of a second, handheld utilizing mode 2 of the Vibration Compensation feature of the lens, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters
Leave a Reply

