Vibration Compensation Modes of the G2

berry-eagle-101216s-copy

Vibration Compensation Modes of the G2
One of the great new features of the new Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens is that it has 3 modes for Vibration Compensation. You as a user of the lens can change the setting for the type of shooting you are doing. #1 is like the traditional mode which is multi access, while #2 is specifically for panning, and #3 is like #1 but only engages when the shutter is fully pressed. This will eliminate the movement you can see in the viewfinder in mode #1. You can also change #3 if you use the TAP-in console to constant VC for video. Great additions to an already fantastic lens. I shot the majority of the images using mode #2 since I was panning with the Eagles as they flew by me. I am so impressed with the lens and the VC modes, I look forward to shooting along the coast of Maine next week with it for sure!
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 (A022) lens on Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure Mode, f8, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/800th of a second, handheld utilizing the VC mode #2 of the lens, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters
4 Responses to “Vibration Compensation Modes of the G2”

  1. Greg Evans Says:

    David, do you know if any of these VC options are available for the Sony A mount lens? I have the earlier version for my a7rii and it relies solely on the cameras in-body VC system. That being said, are there any other advantages for Sony shooters to upgrade to the G2 version? Thanks for looking into this for me.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I’m thinking the VC options are mainly Canon and Nikon, but I will check. The optics are improved on this model for better edge to edge sharpness. The construction is improved as well for dust and weather. The minimum focus distance is almost 2 feet closers. Lastly the tripod collar has a built in 39mm plate.

      • Greg Evans Says:

        I did see that. I read the B&H write up on the lens after I commented yesterday. One issue I have with the new lens is that they don’t offer a Sony compatible converter in either 1.4x or 2x. I don’t understand why Sony is excluded with some of these things? I guess it’s the penalties of mirrorless. I hope you have great success with the new optics. Take care.

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    I am guessing the additional adapter, in addition to the E to A mount, would probably effect the resistance in the wiring? Which in turn would affect the performance. Just guessing from my days of being an Avionics Tech in the Marines.

Leave a Reply

