The New Tamron SP 150-600mm G2 Lens

berry-eagle-101216b-copy

The New Tamron SP 150-600mm G2 Lens.
 
Officially the new lens is model number A022 or the Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 lens, but for simplicity sake, we will shorten it to G2 or something like that. I wanted to do a “box opening” video but the lens came in late last night and I was getting up early to chase Eagles. The Berry College Eagles are extremely active right now, but not necessarily in the best light. From where you stand and photograph, you are looking towards the nest with the sun behind it. Most of the time the Eagles cooperate and grab branches from the trees where you get some good light. Not today. Most of the time they picked branches for the nest either with the sun behind them or before the sun was up and lighting the trees. Normally I would test a lens in good light, but with all the action, I couldn’t resist and felt testing it under these conditions would let me know how it would do under pressure.
 
The image today was the first one I shot with the 1.4X teleconverter (TC). I wanted to see how the sharpness of the image would be if I shot wide open with a TC attached. I had to chose ISO 6400 to get 1/60th of a second since it was still pretty dark outside, maybe 15 minutes before sunrise even. I was really impressed how fast the focus locked in and how sharp and accurate it did. I moved around a few times to see how quickly it would acquire the subject and each time it was virtually immediate. The sharpness speaks for itself. The lens wide open with a TC is super impressive. I used the VC (Vibration Compensation) in position #1 for the image since I was down in some pretty slow ranges with the shutter speed.
 
I will post some images of the Eagles in flight to show how the new VC works in the Panning Mode (#2). For horrible light, and a fast moving bird, I promise, you will be impressed!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD G2 (A022) lens on a Nikon D-500, Aperture Priority, f9, ISO 6400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/60th of a second, Vibration Compensation, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 Gimbal head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #TamronImageMasters, #SiruiUSA
Leave a Reply

