Wings in Motion

Ruby-throated Hummingbird 082916f copy

Wings in Motion
 
I spent an hour or so watching and attempting to photograph the Ruby-throated Hummingbirds yesterday evening. I added 3 feeders thinking it would give them more options to choose from, but instead it was more like 10 more hummers showed up! I would have 4 or 5 birds at each feeder it seemed. I spaced them fairly far apart too thinking it would reduce conflict. Needless to say it was busy and entertaining out there. I think eventually, and watching this morning, it has settled down and everyone seems to be getting something to drink.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-500, Aperture Priority, f8, -0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 3200, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/250th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #Sirui
7 Responses to “Wings in Motion”

  1. He looks to be wearing a bow tie! Wonderful!

  2. I was doing the same thing yesterday. I had two that seem to be getting more comfortable with my feeder. I am pretty sure they are Ruby-throated Hummingbirds.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      They probably are, you being on the east coast. In the east we get some “visitors” but more so in the winter.

      • Yeah. I am pretty sure they are. I tried to identify them using the book I have but they look to similar to one of the other ones (can’t remember the name) that my untrained eye could not make out the difference with the photos I took.

Leave a Reply

