Why do they call them Ruby-throated?

Ruby-throated Hummingbird 082416a copy

Why do they call them Ruby-throated?
 
This isn’t a trick question. It is kind of obvious, right? I remember when I was first launching my career as a nature photographer I spent a lot of time on the road with one of my heroes and mentors, John Shaw. John is one of the greatest birders as well as being the Godfather of nature photography. John stressed to me the importance of learning what you were photographing and it’s habits and behavior as well. We used to joke about some of the names that only bird geeks can do when shooting birds. I was very fortunate to have some of the greatest nature photographers as my teachers and friends. The lessons I learned from John though were way more than “how and why” we create images but everything that leads up to the point of releasing the shutter as well. Learn not only your craft, but learn your subjects as well, even if it is just a basic understanding. Knowledge of the natural world never hurts. Unless you learn the hard way with bees or bears. Bears can kill you if you are the slowest one around.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-500, Aperture Priority, f8, -.3 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/100th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #Sirui
4 Responses to “Why do they call them Ruby-throated?”

  1. Being the slowest around a predator is never a good thing ha-ha. Wonderful Image as always and I appreciate the words of wisdom. I tend to get myself too revved up when shooting which leads to many poor images and disappointment. If I slow myself down and focus more on understanding the bird (or subject) I am trying to shoot I will be much happier with the results. Something I am definitely working on.

    On to a different note. The 150-600 I rented is going back today 😦 I loved having the extra reach but was a little disappointed in the VC. I am not sure if I the lens I rented had some issues or if my technique was just awful. It was my first go with a lens that long.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I always make sure there is a slower dude than me! I like you get so focused on a subject though, I could get eaten easily. Slow is good.

      I think it is a combination of things with the long lens. There is a learning curve with a lens like that. Greater magnification also means greater magnification of problems or errors. The VC on that thing is really good, so there could have been an issue with that particular lens too. Birds take a lot of work.

      • I get so focused on getting the picture that it actually makes quality suffer so not only would I get eaten but when my camera is found they would say “poor bastard didn’t even get a decent shot” lol. I would put money on the issue being me and not the lens but the VC just didn’t seem to kick in like it does on my 70-300 where it literally seems to lock the image in place for a few seconds. However I was at like 900 something mm when at the 600 end so maybe old wobbly me was just too much for the VC to compensate for haha.

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    It should hold it still for sure. For me, with any luck, the bear will format the card to destroy the evidence…

Leave a Reply

