It’s been a long, hot summer…

Eastern Bluebird 082316a copy

It’s been a long, hot summer…
 
Yesterday was an interesting day in the backyard. We not only had the last 6 Eastern Bluebirds to fledge, but at least one or two more juveniles showed up. I am sure they are from the previous brood, but it is great to see 9 or 10 Bluebirds flying around the backyard. We just pulled up all the summer vegetables from the gardens and I tilled the soil, so there were lots of bugs waiting to be eaten. You can see from the looks of Dad here, it has been a long, hot summer. He is starting to molt, as is Mom, so in a few weeks, the Bluebirds will have new vivid feathers to take them into the winter. The juveniles should start molting soon as well. I am hoping we end up with about 15 or so Bluebirds in the yard for winter. I make sure my nestboxes are empty and clean so the birds can huddle together inside on cold nights. I will sometimes put a thin layer of straw down for more insulation. It must be nice to be a Bluebird in my yard!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-500, Aperture Priority, f8, -.3 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 6400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/2500th of a second, Sirui P424S monopod and L10 head, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron, #Sirui
4 Responses to “It’s been a long, hot summer…”

  1. That is awesome. I was able to get a few juveniles show up last night after playing a Bluebird call for a few minutes. I just rented the Tamron 150-600 and wanted to test it out ha-ha. I also cleaned all my feeders and put more seed in them and low and behold the first ever Hummingbird I have seen in my yard shows up to investigate only to be disappointed with what was on the menu. My quick draw wasn’t fast enough to capture a shot though. I guess I need to go buy a feeder for them now that I know they are around.

Leave a Reply

