Mesa Arch, a different view

Mesa Arch 061216a copy

Mesa Arch, a different view.
 
During our trip out west, we made a quick stop at Mesa Arch for a sunrise. It wore us out to make the longer drive to Jackson Hole, but it was worth it. I found it interesting how different photographers can see things so differently while standing near each other. My teaching partner, Cecil Holmes, set up in “the” spot since I had been there 3 weeks earlier I decided to try a different angle that I haven’t shot before. After seeing Cecil’s images I was concerned I may have chosen the wrong location and should have stuck with the iconic view. After I sat last night and finally processed a few of my images, I was okay with my decision. I don’t think either, his or mine, are better angles, just different. His shows the glow of the arch much more while mine focuses on the canyon below while being framed by the arch. When time permits and you can move freely in an area, not Mesa Arch since you are with a few hundred of your closest friends, try different angles and compositions. Digital film is cheap, use all you can to learn and capture.
 
Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Exposure mode, f16, ISO 100, shutter speed of 1/10th of a second, Sirui N3204X tripod and K30X ballhead, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron
5 Responses to “Mesa Arch, a different view”

  1. Love this view!

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    Thanks! I think we sometimes get caught up in shooting the “iconic” view and ignore other great opportunities.

Leave a Reply

