Happy Father’s Day

The Patriarch Tree 061716a copy

Happy Father’s Day.
 
The Patriarch Tree stands tall and strong in the valley below the Tetons. I visited it for the first time back in the early 90’s. It is a thousand year old Bristlecone Pine tree that had been struck by lightning at some point. The group we took out on Friday was less than enthusiastic at the idea of hiking to see a tree, but once we got to the tree, the light in their eyes was fantastic. How does this tie in with Father’s Day? The tree is named “The Patriarch” because it stands tall and strong alone with smaller trees nearby but to me it is the one that stands tallest and truest above all the others. My father took me to the Tetons in 1976, and although we didn’t visit the tree, my future journeys there would. I can never go to the tree without thinking of my first visit to the Tetons. I look and see the camera in my hand and the mountains around me, and I give thanks to my Dad who made my life’s vision possible so many years ago. My Dad, has not been to the tree, but I would love to take him there. Thank you Dad for not only being a Father but a provider of visions and dreams.
 
Tamron 16-300mm Di-II VC PZD lens on a Nikon D-500, Manual Exposure mode, f5, 1/800th of a second, ISO 100, handheld utilizing the VC feature of the lens, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron
Leave a Reply

