Mesa Arch and the Milky Way

Mesa Arch Milky Way 051316f copy

Mesa Arch and the Milky Way.
 
While out in Moab, My friend Patrick Nagle and I decided to go to Mesa Arch early one morning. I posted an image of sunrise there, but we went super early for the Milky Way as well. We tried to shoot it straight on with the arch repeating the pattern of the Milky Way. It was okay, but Patrick went over to the side of the arch and captured a different angle. I really liked the composition, asked if he minded that I might do a similar one and he was okay with it. There are no rules to asking, it is common courtesy more than anything, but I wouldn’t shoot it if he objected out of respect. I would have gone back the next morning at midnight though…thanks Patrick for sharing your creative vision. I did not light paint the image, I simply opened up the Shadow area in Lightroom CC. It is probably a little noisy, but to me makes the rocks have a little texture which could lack if I had painted it with a flashlight.
 
Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Exposure Mode, f2.8, 30 seconds, ISO 3200, Sirui N3204X tripod and K30X ballhead, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron
12 Responses to “Mesa Arch and the Milky Way”

  1. Absolutely amazing. I wish I could take a shot like this.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks! I am willing to bet you can. Just get to a dark area.

      • I have tried it once last year with my t5 but not since getting the 7d2. Also you nailed it, I need to find a darker area. My neighborhood has too much light at night.

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    The 7Dii handles low light very well. Head on out to Wyoming or Utah!

  3. Mark Smolen Says:

    What time of year was this? I think you were just there, but I’m not sure. Also, have you tried printing it? Curious how it performs on paper and today’s hi-def printers. Great shot. I’ll be down that way this fall, but I doubt I’ll have the right sky for that shot.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      It was last Friday. I haven’t tried printing it yet. It should print okay, the noise will resemble texture because I desaturated that area. I may try and print it later today.

  4. Leonard Says:

    Beautiful!!!
    While auto-touring the West last summer, I was in Moab during September for 10 days while waiting for a part to come in to repair a broken exaust. So, I had plenty of time to explore the area, but do not recall Mesa Arch….where is it relative to Moab?

  5. I have been considering this lens for a Nikon D750. Oils appreciate opinion on sharpness etc. I will have problem in always using a tripod, as age and health , do not allow carrying the weight

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I have shot the lens handheld, but it is a much better lens for most things when shot on a tripod. I can see using it handheld for some portraits but I mainly do landscapes with it. It is a great lens.

  6. thanks a million 🙂

Leave a Reply

