Blue Grosbeak vs Indigo Bunting

Blue Grosbeak 050516a copy

Blue Grosbeak

Indigo Bunting 050516a copy

Indigo Bunting

Blue Grosbeak vs Indigo Bunting.
 
This isn’t going to be a wrestling match or as we say here in Georgia Rasslin, this happened by chance and I thought I would post it for a lesson in birding. I was shooting a Blue Grosbeak and it disappeared into the tall grass. Then an Indigo Bunting flew onto the branch where the Grosbeak had been. You can see they are fairly similar but there are distinct differences. The hue of the blue and the size are two of the most obvious. The easiest way to tell them apart is the song. Most new birders rely on books to simply identify birds, but often we will here the bird long before we see it. Take time, invest in something that teaches you the songs of the birds.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Exposure mode, f8, ISO 1600, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/800th of a second, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 gimbal head, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC. #WithMyTamron
6 Responses to “Blue Grosbeak vs Indigo Bunting”

  1. Blue is my favorite color so I am biased but they are beautiful! I have been working on learning the songs of the birds around me. Most of what I hear are Cardinals, Chickadees, Bluebirds and the Titmouse. On another note…any tips for sneaking up on a hawk? The hawks seem to be back in the neighborhood. I saw one this morning but I still can’t get close enough to get a halfway decent image. I only have a 300mm at the moment.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      This is where I usually tell my joke about dressing like a mouse…

      Sneaking up on a hawk is near impossible. They live on their keen vision. They are probably nesting or roosting in that area which makes it tougher. If you can find an area where they hunt, it is easier. Often when they get their prey, they will not fly off and you can get a little closer. Of course, you have make sure that you aren’t getting so close you could stress the bird either. I have nesting pair back behind my house that I have to be careful not to disturb.

      • Right…I don’t want to disturbed or distress. I just want to get a tad closer for a better image. As of now all the ones I have gotten when cropped look awful because I am focusing from a distance too far (I assume). I still have all my cami utilities from the Marine Corps as well as some hunting garb I bought specifically for birding. I guess I will just have to camo up and hide somewhere early in the morning. That is when they like to come and sit on the neighbors fence haha.

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    Make sure you let your neighbors know it’s you, not a shrub!

  3. Oh, they are both so cute! I especially like the second one. The colors are amazing… Well done!

Leave a Reply

