Mr and Mrs Scutt

Scutt 026 copy

Mr and Mrs Scutt.
I didn’t post earlier because I was on the road very early to photograph a wedding. I don’t do weddings often anymore, but when one of my 6 nieces is the Bride, I do. I photographed the wedding with my brother Jamie. This was the first wedding we had ever done together. Our styles are completely different so we feel she will get the best of both worlds. My style at a wedding is photo-journalistic and I like to shoot with only available light which gets so much more mood into an image for me. I like the subtle swirls and movements with slower shutter speeds and the grain of converting an image to BW. I also believe it is so much easier to get a natural feeling image with just available light. Knowing Jamie was doing all the flashed images let me have fun.
My niece and her husband were incredibly cool, calm and collected all things considered. The groom’s father missed the wedding because he fell ill last night and had to spend the day in the hospital. He should rest well knowing his son did him well. This was one of my favorite images of the 20 or so I have processed so far. Capturing their love and ease for each other was very rewarding for me as a photographer, and a very proud uncle.
Tamron SP 15-30mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Aperture Priority mode, f4, ISO 800, +2.3 stops of exposure compensation for the window light, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/60 of a second, VC active, processed in Lightroom CC, converted to BW with On1. #WithMyTamron
2 Responses to “Mr and Mrs Scutt”

  1. Beautiful portrait, David – I’m sure your niece will be thrilled. I just signed on to second-shoot a wedding with a friend, on New Year’s Eve in an old factory converted to a wedding venue. I never shoot weddings, so this will be interesting!! 🙂

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks! That’s sounds like a really awesome venue! I look forward to seeing the images.

Leave a Reply

