81 Years

Dad 1954

81 Years
 
Today marks my Dad’s 81st Birthday. I have mentioned it many times before, but my life as a photographer would not have happened if it hadn’t been for my Dad. At the age of 10 or 11, he gave me my first camera, an Asahi Pentax Spotmatic. I remember it was a rarity because it had both Pentax and Asahi written on it. He taught me how to process my own film in the darkroom, and to print as well. We weren’t wealthy by any means, but he never got upset when it took me a couple of tries to get a print right, wasting some paper in the process. It may be that little thing that has helped me be an instructor, better yet a teacher, these years. Instructors often just show or tell you how it should be done, a teacher makes sure you can repeat the process on your own. My Dad taught me many things about photography over the years, even in the digital world. He has taught me many things in life. It doesn’t take much to be a Father, but it takes everything to be a Dad.
 
Thank you to the best teacher and Dad a man could ask for, Happy Birthday Gunny. I look forward to many more lessons over the years.
5 Responses to “81 Years”

  1. That is awesome. Semper Fi and happy birthday Gunny!

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your Dad!
    I really enjoyed your class last Sunday in Kerrville and am enjoying your daily posts!

  3. Then happy birthday to your dad! I am really into birthdays and I never forget anyone’s birthday. Best, Nataly (btw, I like the pic!)

  4. lilybug1960 Says:

    I will pass on all the birthday wishes to him!

Leave a Reply

