The New Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro lens!

Tamron SP 90mm Macro 031116b copy

The New Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro lens!
 
Having grown up in the world of photography that prime lenses were the norm, I can appreciate the advantages of a super sharp lens while giving up the versatility of a zoom. I used to carry about 8 lenses where as now I can carry 4. Last year Tamron released 2 new lenses labeled SP primes and I realized how much I missed the one focal length lens. It can help you learn to shoot compositions because you have to learn to see differently vs. zooming in or out. When you put your zoom back on, it enhances what you are doing. My first Tamron lens was a 90mm Macro lens that had an “adaptall” mount. I shot it first with my Pentax system then when I changed to Nikon I simply purchased a new Nikon mount for the lens. That lens opened my eyes to the quality of Tamron lenses. Since that lens I have owned every version of their 90mm Macro lens they have manufactured. Yesterday FedEx delivered the latest in the great line, the new Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro lens or Model F017.
 
My first impression was the construction of the lens is fantastic. The feel is smooth and sleek, yes I said sleek describing a lens, pick one up and you will agree. The focusing ring is big and easy to get to when looking through the viewfinder at your subject. The 3 switches, VC on/off, AF on/off, and the Limit switch, are placed at an easy location to reach while holding the lens or while looking through the viewfinder. I did a few test shots of some flowers in the kitchen and know the lens meets and/or exceeds all of the previous versions of this lens. With spring just around the corner, I am super excited to get out and shoot the lens. I am so impressed with the feel and quality, I know the image sharpness will match my expectations as well.
 
Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro lens (F017) on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Mode, f11, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 1 second, Sirui W2204X waterproof carbon fiber tripod and K20X head, Peak Design strap, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
2 Responses to “The New Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro lens!”

  1. Steve Fassio Says:

    I just looked at Tamron USA’s website to get more details. Looks like this one might be on my next Christmas list.

    I’ve gone a bit crazy this year with new NIkon bodies and accessories. This is definitely one I would love to shoot Spring wildflowers with.

Leave a Reply

