Atlanta From 60 Miles Away

Atlanta 030216a copy

Atlanta from 60 miles away.
 
A great friend and someone who I consider to be one of the leaders in community and environmental causes here in Jasper asked if I could help to get an image of downtown Atlanta for him. He is the head of the Mountains Stewards and has done an incredible amount of trail construction, bridge building, observation deck building and even built “the greatest little privy in North Georgia. He wanted a shot of the skyline from the south observation platform of Eagle’s Rest Park on Oglethorpe Mountain. Now I am guessing but I would say Atlanta is about 60 miles away. To get the shot, I went out on several previous occasions but clouds prevented me from getting the image I hoped to get. Last night though, a cold front had come through the day before, the sky was relatively clear, so I went again to the platform. From the platform you can see Kennesaw Mountain off on the right and Stone Mountain to the left. An incredible sight. I decided to use a long lens and as long an exposure I could to capture some of the beautiful near sunset light on the skyline. It is a sight to see. I like that it is about 60 miles away though too….
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Mode, ISO 100, f8, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/15th of a second, Sirui N3204X tripod and K20X ballhead, Peak Design strap, Lowepro camera backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
Leave a Reply

