Red-bellied Woodpecker

Red-bellied Woodpecker 022616a copy

Red-bellied Woodpecker.
 
There is an old saying “birds of a feather, flock together.” In my yard it should be, “if you have feathers, flock together.” I have feeders behind my shop and also beside my back porch, and it seems they sometimes just move from one set to the other set. The Bluebirds seem to be the leaders often for these movements. Recently the Red-bellied Woodpeckers are following along too and going to my log feeders. They are a little skiddish but yesterday the male really settled in and stayed a few minutes. I was able to capture some really nice images of him. I have about a 40 foot buffer between the logs and the background so I am able to capture a nice smooth background when I shoot.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 5Diii, Manual Mode, f8, ISO 1600, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/250th of a second, VC on, Sirui P424S Carbon fiber monopod and L10 head, Peak Design strap, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
3 Responses to “Red-bellied Woodpecker”

  1. I was chasing one of these around this morning. I found the tree that they frequent in the woods behind my house. Now I just need to lie in wait and get some decent shots. I also discovered that I can get my Bluebirds to come back by playing some calls off youtube. Works for Tits too! Weather is great this weekend so I am hoping to get some great shots!

Leave a Reply

