Downy Woodpeckers

Downy Woodpecker 022416d copy

Downy Woodpecker 022416f copy

Downy Woodpeckers
 
I like to express my artistic side when possible, especially in landscapes, but often my work is geared towards a natural history audience. I shoot a lot of stuff simply to help others with IDs and such. This is the case with the pair of Downy Woodpeckers visiting my worm logs recently. It is neat to see a comparison of the two. The male with the red on the head, the female just black and white. Two beautiful birds. I hope I will determine where they will nest and I can photograph their time raising young as well.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D7200, Manual Mode, f8, ISO 3200, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/400th of a second, Sirui P424S carbon fiber monopod and L10 head, Peak Design strap, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
2 Responses to “Downy Woodpeckers”

  1. Very nice! I wish you success in finding a pair of woodpeckers. When sexual dimorphoism (sp?) exists, it is fun to contrast male and female individuals. For instance, the snowy white owl is completely white in the female while the male is white and speckled with black spots.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Snowy Owls are one of my “bucket list” birds. I have seen them in captivity but not in the wild. I will now know how to tell them apart using your tip! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

