Naps

Berry Eagle 021816a copy

Naps.
 
I realized this morning I did not do a post yesterday. I had gotten up early to drive over to Berry College to see the Eagles. There was a lot of activity and it was great to again witness nature at it’s finest. I only stayed a few hours but it was some good time spent at the nest. Some good folks to talk with while we photographed the activity. I then drove back and Evelyn and I went out to lunch at our favorite little place in Jasper, 61 Main. Great place. We then had a couple little things to do before returning home. I checked to make sure everything was ready for my lecture with the Georgia Nature Photographers Association last night, which went very well. Great group of very talented photographers. After preparing I decided it was time for a short nap.
 
Naps are so underrated. If I had known as a kid what I know now about naps, man, I would have embraced them so quick. Just a 30 minute nap was enough to rejuvenate me and get me ready for the rest of the evening. When I am doing workshops, I usually get very little sleep at night. Typically a few hours at best, but a 30 minute nap is just what I need to survive and thrive. Okay so naps have nothing to do with the image except that is how I felt when I got up from my nap. Yep Ma Berry is shaking it out after being on the nest and babies all night. She went out to hunt just after this image and came back less than 10 minutes later with a meal. She is good!
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Mode, f8, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/800th of second, Sirui N3204X tripod and PH20 Gimbal head, Peak Design strap, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
3 Responses to “Naps”

  1. Steve Fassio Says:

    David, I love reading your blog. It captures images and thoughts so much better than a Facebook post. I will have to look into WordPress to store some of my favorite images.

    It’s been years since I’ve seen a true 8 plus hours of sleep. Part of it comes from aging.

    Per Web MD:

    “Natural Melatonin levels slowly drop with age. Some older adults make very small amounts of it or none at all.”

    I have found Melatonin supplements work for some. Benadryl works for others. Like most pharmaceuticals, the active ingredient in Benadryl is too long to spell (it starts with a “D”), They are both OTC, but Melatonin is the more natural way to regulate your sleep cycles.

    The other reasons I wake early is a combination of early brain activity and a very persistent 18 Lb. orange & white tabby cat named Jack. He loves to make his presence known by tapping me lightly in the face with his giant paws. In some ways I don’t mind. He greets me every day with a sweet meow and a purr…..

    Jack loves his morning scratches and is always interested in his two squares a day. He’s my unofficial 4 legged alarm clock. Jack usually waits until after I begin to stir around 4:00 AM. I actually get so much done in the still of the morning that it’s OK to wake me.

    Enjoy your naps. They refresh our bodies and clear our heads. It’s a reminder of the one thing we should take away from our childhood. Mom knew best.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks Steve. Writing and posting are very therapeutic to me. I have never gotten 8 hours. I am one of those people that 6 hours was and is more my normal. I tried Melatonin for a while but I was one of those people that had weird dreams when I slept using them. I take Benadryl and it usually helps, but like you I have a furry alarm clock by the name of Bailey who likes face rubs at about 4:30a.m. Naps seem to do the trick for me when I am able to catch them. Thanks again.
      David

  2. Steve Fassio Says:

    David, I love reading your blog. It captures images and thoughts so much better than a Facebook post. I will have to look into WordPress to store some of my favorite images.

    It’s been years since I’ve seen a true 8 plus hours of sleep. Part of it comes from aging.

    Per Web MD:

    “Natural Melatonin levels slowly drop with age. Some older adults make very small amounts of it or none at all.”

    I have found Melatonin supplements work for some, and the active ingredient in Benadryl works for others. Like most pharmaceuticals, it’s too long to spell (it starts with a “D”), They are both OTC, but Melatonin is the more natural way to regulate your sleep cycles.

    The other reason I wake early is a combination of early morning brain activity and a very persistent 18 Lb. orange / white tabby cat named Jack. He loves to make his presence known by tapping me lightly in the face with his giant paws. Lovely…..

    Jack loves morning scratches and is always interested in his two squares a day. He’s my unofficial 4 legged alarm clock. Jack usually waits until after I begin to stir around 4:00 AM. I actually don’t mind because I get so much done in the still of the morning.

    Enjoy your naps. They refresh our bodies and clear our heads. One thing we should take away from our childhood. Mom knew best.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

