Iceland Gull

Iceland Gull 012416b copy

Iceland Gull 012416a copy

Iceland Gull.
 
The call came out over the speaker…”white winged gull at 3 o’clock”. People scattered to the starboard side of the boat and off in the distance you could see a gull lacking any black on it’s wings. At one point, the gull flew behind the boat mixing in with some young Herring Gulls. My first Iceland Gull.
 
I guess it is really cool to have seen it, after all it was very uncommon, but I was more impressed honestly how well my lens handled the situation. Here was a low contrast bird mixed in with many birds with much more contrast, flying in dull light with a plain background. That is a recipe for missed shots! I was able to snap off about 14 frames of the Iceland Gull as it flew in the middle of the other gulls. Not one frame was unsharp. The lens and camera nailed it. People often ask how much I like that Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens and I tell them I love it. On a moving boat, rocking with the waves, on a monopod, shooting a low contrast subject while it is flying up and down, forward and backward, it performed flawlessly. How could I not love it?
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Nikon D-7200, Manual Mode, f8, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/1600th of a second, Sirui P424S carbon fiber monopod with L10 head, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
2 Responses to “Iceland Gull”

  1. Great shots, David! I’d never heard of an Iceland Gull before, so a first for me, too. And, that Tamron 150-600 still remains at the top of my wish list. 🙂

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I was so impressed with the performance of the lens. I am processing images of birds in flight now and am blown away at the image quality! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

