She’s Home

The 3 Chairs 011416a copy

She’s Home.
 
This is probably the most personal blog post I have ever written. It really has nothing to do about a photograph but everything to do with my photography. When Lily passed away last week Evelyn and I made the decision to cremate her remains. We are the type of people that consider our dogs to be family. Lily and Bailey were our girls. When we got Lily I made a promise to myself that she would never be boarded, not because boarding is bad, but Lily liked being around people. She spent one night, maybe two at the doctor’s office when she had procedures done. Beyond that she always had a person with her. Lily’s home is with us and we knew she needed to be with us. I picked up Lily’s ashes yesterday afternoon. It was much easier than I thought it would be. Why? Because I knew she was coming home with us. Some folks will not understand but for anyone who has truly loved unconditionally I know you will. Thank you again to everyone for your thoughts, prayers and words of kindness during this period Evelyn, Bailey and I have been going through.
 
What does all of this have to do with my photography. You are in every image you create, your vision, your soul, your emotions. When someone looks at your images, they should see a part of you. My photography and I have progressed over the years. We still capture nature at it’s best, but at the same time I hope that in images you see a part of me and can understand more about who I am or hope to be. I promise to post more images of the world around us soon, but each time look to see a part of me and do the same, for you, each time you release the shutter.
 
Welcome home my Lilybug.
6 Responses to “She’s Home”

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry. Little critters leave such huge voids. Sending healing vibes . . .

  2. Well put, and very thoughtful comments, David. As another pet lover with two cats (was three a few months ago) and a dog, I can relate to your pain. But you should feel great knowing what a great life you gave her!! You’re a class act, and she was very happy.

  3. Beautiful. I believe the same about my dogs. Never board them. If they can’t go with me, I don’t go.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thank you. We do have their grandparents stay with them, especially if we are going out of the country, but they have just always wanted to be around people.

Leave a Reply

