Spartacus?

Eastern Bluebirds 011116b copy

Spartacus?
 
Bluebirds are fairly territorial and tend to stay in an area until they leave to find mates or nesting areas. Last year when the first brood of Bluebirds fledged, most of them stayed in the area and could be seen in the woods around the house. Often during late fall I would see as many as 7 in a group. The other day when 4 were at the box in the front, I could count 4 more in the backyard around the feeder. Maybe I am just being hopeful but that would account for Mom, Dad, the 5 from the first brood and of course Spartacus. One of them has some distinct white feathers on it’s backside which most juveniles do. The others do not which could indicate to me a different brood from earlier in the year. So using that logic, this would be Spartacus. I will continue to pt food out for them throughout the winter and try to get some shots of the feathers on the backside. I know when spring comes he will leave to find a mate and start raising young on his own. That is one good looking bird.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Mode, f8, ISO 800, metered on the nestbox, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/100th of a second, Sirui P204S monopod and L10 head, Peak Design strap, Lowepro photo backpacks, processed in Lightroom CC.
4 Responses to “Spartacus?”

  1. I was wondering what kind of bird this is. I have a few hanging out around the bird feeders I have out out in the yard. I was able to get a few shots but I doubt they are near as nice as this.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      Thanks. They are in the same family as Robins. They are very entertaining birds to watch.

      • They certainly are. The few that visited my feeder the other day were the first I had ever seen. Some were blue with the red chest and some were more brown if I remember correctly. Male and female I am guessing?

  2. lilybug1960 Says:

    Correct. The male is mostly blue backed and winged while the female has much more muted pastel coloring.

Leave a Reply

