Big Mama Done Laid an Egg!

Bald Eagle 010516i copy

Big Mama done laid an egg.
 
Even though I have lived in Georgia for over 45 years, I don’t really have a southern accent. I can type it and translate it for my northern friends when needed, but I don’t speak it unless I try.
 
The last few days have been extremely difficult for me with Lily’s passing, but I know it gets easier with time. The day after Lily passed I went over to Berry College to see the Eagles. Since I was a kid getting outdoors and involving myself with nature has always been my therapy. Things get put into perspective and the relationship of all living things become more apparent. I always believe that when a soul leaves a body it becomes a part of other beings in your life. Lily always guarded Evelyn and I when we walked or even sat in the house. I think she knew I would be going to see the Eagles often and wanted me to know she would be there to watch over me as well. Ma Berry laid her first egg of the season yesterday evening at about 5:28p.m.
 
I would like to think that the timing of the egg laying was more than just convenience. I immediately thought about how when one life ends, another begins. So for me, it is comforting to know as I spend time at the nest Lily will be there watching over me. Eagles to me have always been beautiful and majestic, but if you ever watch one feed an Eaglet you see how gentle they can be as well. That was my Lily, beautiful and as gentle as they get. I look forward to watching the journey of the Eagles this year even more so than usual.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Mode f8, ISO 800, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/1600th of a second, Sirui R4214X tripod and PH20 Gimbal head, Black Rapid strap, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
4 Responses to “Big Mama Done Laid an Egg!”

  1. Connie and Don Says:

    I understand your loss. My dog, Miller, passed away in October. I had him since he was 6 months old and he was almost 11 when he died. I knew the day would come, but I was not prepared for the emptiness in our lives with him not here. He was our friend and protector. A big dog, his pictured is on my facebook page. Our lives are not the same without him. I am glad you were able to go to the nest, we are going to try and go to Rome very soon. Maybe we will see you there.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I knew the day would come but never expected it to come so soon. So sorry for your loss and I hope things get better for you. I hope we will see you at the nest some day.

Leave a Reply

