Mourning Dove

Mourning Dove 122015a copy

Mourning Dove.
 
I have the “Bird Studio” set up and back in business for the winter. I don’t leave feeders out in the summer since we have bears and the birds have plenty of food sources available. I typically put it out in late fall for any migrants passing by, which was the case this year. I finally set up the tripod and camera yesterday. It didn’t take long for the birds to get used to seeing me and the camera in the window. This Mourning Dove posed nicely for me!
 
Thank you all for the kind words about my Mother. She has been missed but she is always present in our lives.
 
We had our annual Christmas party last night at my sister’s house. It was great to see my brothers and sisters, cousins, nieces, nephews and even great nephews! When did we get old enough to have great nephews? Life sort of sneaks up on you a day at a time apparently. The Gunny was there and was feisty enough to try and claim an entire apple pie for his own. Due to the shortage of apple pie, my brother has challenged my sister to an apple pie bake off on Christmas. I volunteered to be a judge. They didn’t buy into my rules of having one piece cold, one warm and one with vanilla ice cream on top as the requirements for deciding the winner. I still get to judge though.
 
Whatever religion you practice, even if it is none at all, take this time of year to open your homes to family and friends, even those who don’t have someone to visit this time of year. Small random acts of kindness can go a long way. It isn’t about religion to be kind, it is about being a caring human being.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Aperture Priority, f8, -0 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/60th of a second, Sirui R4214X tripod and PH20 Gimbal Head, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
2 Responses to “Mourning Dove”

  1. Beautiful dove! We just filled out feeders yesterday, and there’s constant traffic already. Now to set up an outdoor studio!! 🙂 Wishing you and Evelyn the merriest Christmas and happiest New Year ever!

Leave a Reply

