I’m Spoiled!

Bald Eagle 121615b copy

I’m spoiled.
 
Yep, I said it. I am totally spoiled living near (1 1/2 hours) from a Bald Eagle’s nest that the birds are somewhat habituated to humans. I have shared many images of the Berry College Bald Eagles and will share many, many more. I was sitting and thinking the other day while observing the nest that there are some folks who have never seen an Eagle in the wild, much less their nest. To be able to sit and observe, and the bonus of photograph, the Eagles is incredible. They have the area fenced off because there are some folks that would undoubtedly walk closer if they could. The Eagles are constantly watch with live cams as is the area around the nest. The Eagles in return put on a great show of the natural world for folks who venture out there. Bald Eagles are by far my favorite bird, then I have several other favorites for other categories (song bird, shore bird, etc.). The birds often fly overhead of the observation area and perch in trees nearby offering great photographic opportunities. We are truly given a gift of an opportunity with our Eagles up there.
 
This is the female, or Big Mama, or Martha, depending on who you talk to of course. She is the largest Eagle I have seen on the East Coast and I would love to see how she compares to some Northwestern Eagles for size. She graced me with a flyby in perfect light the other morning. Magnificent bird.
 
Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Manual Mode, Spot Metering, f8, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/800th of a second, handheld utilizing the VC feature of the lens, Black Rapid RS4 strap, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.
2 Responses to “I’m Spoiled!”

  1. How do you like that Tamron SP 150-600mm lens? The image looks pretty sharp for a handheld image. How heavy is the lens? Great image by the way!

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      I love it! I think it is light enough to handhold when needed. I have done as low as 1/6th of a second and it being tack sharp. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

