Lessons Learned

Berry Eagles 102315m copy

Blue Angels GGAS 103015q copy

Lessons Learned

I wanted to do a post to give insight on what I learned photographing the Great Georgia Air Show. I am a photo generalist that specializes in nature photography so I know how to photography many subjects but love nature photography. Shooting an air show for the first time along side people who specialize in aviation photography is somewhat intimidating. I was confident that once I learned the technical side, I could do the rest. Fortunately, I met several guys that were willing to share their experiences and it made the whole thing easier.

Stepping outside our comfort zone, or the hula hoop effect as I call it, meaning stepping beyond those things we hold closest to us, and trying new things not only gives me more experience with other genres of photography but makes me better at nature photography. Applying the principals I use everyday with my work to a different area was great for me to build on my skills. I learned photographing planes with propellers is very different from jets. You want prop blur, but with jets you want stop action. Using the same techniques for birds in flight work for planes. The exception is they are very fast moving birds. Keeping both eyes open and looking over the lens as you pan is the key to getting a higher success rate with birds in flight. With the planes, judging how far to zoom in played into the success rate as well. When a plane is farther out, it looks much smaller than it will be when it passes you. Not over zooming is important and played into my “not keepers” pile.

I am very grateful to the folks at the Great Georgia Air Show, Pam Wood Ellis especially for giving me the opportunity to be a Staff Photographer for the event. I am looking forward to seeing how my time at the Air Show influences my time in Bosque del Apache and the Festival of the Cranes in a week or so.

Both images were made using the Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Aperture Priority, hand held utilizing the Vibration Compensation feature of the lens, Peak Design Slide or Black Rapid strap, Lowepro Flipside 500AW, processed in Lightroom CC.

Leave a Reply

