The FG 1D Corsair

Corsair GGAS 103115m copy

The FG 1D Corsair

The Corsair has to be one of my favorite aircraft of WWII. I know it is probably from growing up watching the Baa Baa Blacksheep TV show with Robert Conrad as Pappy Boyington. It was such a cool show to me. When I was in the Marines, I was older than most of my platoon and shop. I didn’t enlist in the Marines until I was 26. I had the nickname “Pappy”. I know it was intended as a dig at my age but I took it more of an honor to be called the same thing as one of the greatest Marine Aviators of all time. When I was deployed in Japan it changed to “Ojisan” which is literally translated as old man but they didn’t have a Pappysan, so I was cool with that too. It stuck with me my entire time in the Marines and even my Commanding Officers referred to me as “Pappy”.

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Aperture Priority, f8, +.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 400, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/100th of a second, handheld utilizing the VC feature of the lens, Black Rapid strap, Lowepro Flipside 500AW photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Leave a Reply

