A New Experience.

Blue Angels GGAS 110115a copy

A new experience.

Over the past 2 days I was shooting as a Staff Photographer for the Great Georgia Air Show. Shooting an air show was actually very new for me, but not as foreign as I expected. I spent a little time beforehand reading tips and talking with folks. In reality it is not very different than shooting birds in flight. Just very fast birds in flight! I hung out with a great aviation photographer, John Willhoff, and he was kind enough to give me some tips to help me create a few images that even the “regulars” would accept. Thank you also to Pam Wood Ellis for giving me such a great opportunity!

I learned about the proper amount of prop blur in an image among other things. With the jets, you kick the speed up a notch since there is no prop! I was talking with part of the Blue Angels Crew on Friday and learned some valuable information. Instead of watching the sky to figure out where the jets are coming from, watch the Blues Angels’ Official Videographer, they video each performance as well as practice so they will let you know when someone is flying in and from where!

I got to fly in a helicopter and shoot some aerial shots of the event as well on Media Day Friday. I even got to take a flight on the Blue Angels support aircraft, the one and only Fat Albert Airlines! I will admit, it kicked my butt. I would like to believe that not having had anything to eat in 8 hours, one bottle of water, 2+ positive Gs and zero and -Gs is what did me in, but yep, I attempted to get airsick. I say attempted because I had nothing in me to put out. I had a blast and would definitely consider the ride again. I need a few days to fully get over it. The Fat Albert Crew are all Marines and they do an incredible job of entertaining the public. Oorah!

Tamron SP 150-600mm Di VC USD lens on a Canon 7Dii, Aperture Priority, f8, +.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 1600, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/2500th of a second, Black Rapid strap, handheld utilizing the VC feature of the lens (no room for my Sirui tripod or monopod), processed in Lightroom CC.

 

Leave a Reply

