Close enough to the ATL for me!

Close enough to the ATL for me!

About now you are saying “ATL? Where?” Well the mountain peak sticking out is Sharptop Mountain, which you see in my posts of my backyard, and the bright spot to the right of it is downtown Atlanta. I so enjoy the traffic jams of Jasper, 3 cars, to the traffic jams of Atlanta, a million cars! For instance, the other day it was a busy day on our road. We saw 2 other cars, probably tourists…

This image was made from an overlook a couple of miles from my house. It is an extremely popular overlook for folks wanting to get away from the city for a day. For me, it is almost home.

Tamron SP 17-35mm Di lens on a Sony a7R via the Novoflex adapter, Manual Mode, f4, 30 seconds, ISO 3200, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro photo backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Upper Overlook 091415b copy

4 Responses to “Close enough to the ATL for me!”

  1. More Tea Please! Says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Hey David it was great meeting you that night and I was interested to see how your picture would turn out. I got several decent shots that night but nothing quite as nice as this one. Still it was a bit of a breakthrough for me as I am used to the intense light pollution in my area and recently bought a lens to cover more sky with a wide aperture to guzzle more light. Am hopeful to get up there in early October for one last chance to photo the center region of the milky way band before it is gone for good.

    • lilybug1960 Says:

      It was great meeting you as well. I was pleased with the results except the slight streaks of clouds. It was perfect last night but I was unable to go to the overlook. I hope to make it down there tonight, but the moon is up in the area until about 10pm. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

