Reflections and Memories 14 years later

Reflections and Memories 14 years later.

Evelyn and I had just married 2 months and 2 days earlier. We were living in a townhouse next to Marietta High School. I am always the first to wake up in the house and had made coffee and sat down to drink my first cup. When I turned on the TV I saw one of the World Trade Center towers smoking. I didn’t know what to think. At that point they thought it was a small plane had crashed into it. Then as I watched the second plane hit the other tower. I, like most people, hadn’t thought terrorism. Within minutes though it was apparent. I woke Evelyn and Eric up and told them. Eric’s first words were, Osama Bin Laden. He has a passion for studying International Affairs and Events. He of course was right.

That minute though I did know, things would never be the same in our country. I will not even start to go into the changes we have made, most of which are not doing anything to truly protect the people living here in the US. The thing I think about and reflect upon the most is how so many died that day who had done nothing but go to work that day. Innocent people who simply died at their office, but especially those Police Officers, Fireman, First Responders and those who ran into the buildings to try and save a life. Take a minute today and everyday to say a word of thanks and pray for those who perished that day.

We as a World have had enough wars that haven’t worked, let’s give Peace a chance for a few generations.

This is an image of the reflecting pools with the Freedom Tower in the background. I shot this image in 2012 while in NYC. I used my Sony NEX-7 and the Tamron 18-200mm Di-III VC lens set on Aperture Priority, f7.1, -.3 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 1/30th of a second.

9_11 Memorial Site 102712c copy

Leave a Reply

