My first scenic location

My first scenic location

To the best of my recollection, this may be the first location I ever photographed with the intent of creating an image. I had been to the Grand Tetons the year before with my Dad and the trip had begun to inspire me to look at things to photograph. It was 1977, I had just completed my Junior year of High School and some friends, Brad, Chris and Mark and I had decided to go camping and do some fishing in North Georgia. I don’t remember who it was that had said they had been to this river before but we had a blast. I think I have returned to this river almost every year and photographed it since that year. There were a few years I missed it but it remains my favorite river if not anywhere, easily in Georgia.

This is a set of rapids along the Upper Tallulah River in Rabun County. I know I have photographed it and shown it hundreds of times but it is always a great experience. This was yesterday morning between rain showers. I could sit at this spot for hours if I had the time.

Tamron SP 15-30mm f2.8 Di VC USD lens on a Sony a7R via Novoflex adapter, Aperture Priority, approx. f11, -.7 stops of exposure compensation, ISO 100, resulting in a shutter speed of 15 seconds, Sirui R4214X tripod and K40X ballhead, Peak Design Leash, Lowepro Flipside 500AW backpack, processed in Lightroom CC.

Tallulah River 090915a copy

Leave a Reply

